About the UM IBC

The University of Mississippi Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) oversees compliance with university, local, state, and federal regulations governing biological safety and security, in compliance with the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules. Oversight areas include:

  • Recombinant DNA
  • Agents that are potentially infectious for humans, animals or plants
  • Toxins
  • Human blood, body fluids, or unfixed tissue
  • Tissues, organ or cell cultures of human origin
  • Human gene therapy
  • Old World primates or sheep

 The IBC advises the University community on matters related to such materials.

The IBC is charged with protecting UM faculty, staff, students, and visitors during research-related activities and has the authority and obligation to approve research and halt any activity deemed to be unsafe by the committee.


Members are appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Research and Sponsored Programs.  The committee meets the NIH requirements for membership and has no less than 5 members with varying backgrounds to enable the committee to completely and adequately review UM research activities involving potentially biohazardous materials.

Current members include: Foster Logan, MS (Chair); Mandy King, MS; Patrick Curtis, PhD; Harry Fyke, DVM; Prabin Tamang, PhD; Kristin Sparks, BSN; Cammi Thornton, BS (Research Compliance Specialist)



When reviewing proposals for work with potentially biohazardous materials, the IBC takes steps to verify that appropriate precautionary measures are in place. These may include sufficient containment facilities, work practices, and training.